crazylady's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

01.01.05

If it were up to me, there would be no Christ/Giftmas in my family. We don�t celebrate it as a religious holiday. We don�t celebrate the Winter Solstice. What we celebrate is ham and presents. While I�m not truly opposed to either of those, the stress that comes from having to drive from one end of the state to the other in order to partake of them is enough to make me bitter.

We spent a few days up North with BD�s father and stepmother. You may recall last year we pretty much simmered in our own juices as the heat was not unlike sitting on the surface of the sun. Well this year it fluctuated between that and icy cold. And I understand the �need� to buy presents, but in all honestly I have no need for a snowman soup dispenser. I like snowmen and I like soap but I�ve never though it necessary to combine the two. And as I�m trying to come up with the proper facial expression that shows my joy you give me the okay to re-gift it. Why bother? I won�t be offended if I get nothing, what offends me is that you think I would actually use such a gift.

Some Moron thought it would be a grand idea to have people over on the eve of Giftmas Eve. So after driving more than three hours home I was stuck to come up with something for dinner and I needed to festive up the house. After rummaging through the cupboards for whatever remaining snacky-type foods we had to be put in amber glass dessert dishes I sent BD out for taco fixings. I mean, what�s more festive that Old El Paso?

So sometime after the presents were exchanged and the tacos were eaten I passed out on the couch, half from exhaustion and half from beer. It was just a nanosecond before I was knocked out that I realized Chupie and I had been traveling since Saturday, having spent three days at my mothers house, coming home Monday, watching football with The Best Friend� at the bar and then getting the brilliant idea to drive up North at 4AM. Did I mention that Chupies car sickness seems to have returned? Yeah, that�s cool. So while sitting in the parking lot of a Meijer while BD ran in to buy diapers (which I had forgotten to pack) and something to wipe up vomit I decided it would be a good idea to call my friend Whitney. Thankfully she misplaced her phone charger and wasn�t subjected to my idiotic half-drunk rambling.

We arrived at the in-laws around 7AM to find them sleeping. I, of course, had to pee and answered natures call on the wheel of the Jeep. We ended up falling asleep for a few hours listening to some wacky early morning radio show.

As my own eyes are glazing over at the sheer length of this diatribe I will continue with the rest of the holiday tale tomorrow.

Quote of the Day: �Happy Chwismas Twee Mommy!�

3:15 a.m. - 01.01.05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

120104.html 010105b.html

latest entry

about me

notes

DiaryLand

contact

other diaries: